Skip to content

The winner and still champeen

December 8, 2010

Last Thursday, I received one of the most blessed e-mails in human history, from my friend Lauren, who has one child and is 8/9 of the way to her second.

It read:

Hey, lady-
Just wanted to check in to see how you’re feeling these days! My guess is you’re feeling pretty lousy, in which case I wanted to offer some love and empathy. Please let me know when it might be a good time for me to swing by to drop off a little care package of comfort items for you….

I nearly wept from feeling that someone out there knew! I was in a pretty low place at that point, because I didn’t just feel sick, but the combination of sick and exhausted had also led me to utterly isolate myself for a few weeks.

The next day, Lauren showed up at my work with the weirdest goodie bag I ever gratefully accepted. Among its treasures were raw ginger root, seasickness wristbands, a funny book about pregnancy that is nevertheless scaring the shit out of me, and a precious little mini tin of mini Altoids.

Lauren, I remembered the Altoids tonight. My tongue, still safely ensconced in my mouth, thanks you for them. More importantly, thanks for thinking of me when I felt like the most inept, whiny, pregnant person ever.

Of course, I still hold that title. They were going to give me the championship belt, but it doesn’t fit anymore.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Lauren permalink
    December 9, 2010 9:45 am

    You are welcome. And for God’s sake, please stop reading the book if it’s scaring the shit out of you.
    Love–
    Lauren

Leave a Reply

