Skip to content

Fetus, don’t fail me now

December 6, 2010

I didn’t write. Because I couldn’t find a way to make the activities of the past two weeks interesting:

Wake up one to two hours before the alarm, struggle to fall back asleep. Fail.

Go to work. Struggle to stay awake. Struggle not to faint. Sit down at inappropriate moments. Convince self not to hurl in front of impressionable children.

Drive home as fast as possible. Get takeout or order in, because any food preparation of even consideration of more than 30 seconds is no longer an option.

Eat.

Regret eating.

Crawl into bed. Read fashion sites on the Internet, dreaming about clothes that will not fit and cannot afford. Struggle not to hurl in front of impressionable boyfriend.

Sleep.

It’s not very interesting to live through — it’s gotta be worse to read.

We had the eight-week ultrasound last week, and everything was great. Strong heartbeat. My blood pressure was fine. Little baby-shape appendages beginning to appear.

Blood test Thursday showed great hormonal levels, which means I am quickly being tapered off all the hormone supplements. Can’t wait to be done.

I’ve even been transferred to a real, live, grown-up OB. I am, to some degree, now a normal pregnancy, although I am officially “high risk” because of my age. I don’t feel worried about the age, thing, though, as the eggs were always the only lousy stats in my workup. I look forward to feeling normal, and a little scared out of being pushed out of the complicated but familiar nest of the Fancy Shmancy Fertility Clinic.

All signs point to Baby.

Except … the violent, wretched morning sickness that has plagued me from 11 a.m. to sleep every day for the past two weeks? Today, it has almost entirely disappeared. And I’m not greeting this turn of events with the appropriate joy. Rather, it has me terrified. And I have two weeks to go before my first OB appointment.

Are you in there, little fetus?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Steph permalink
    December 6, 2010 8:31 pm

    Little one’s in there; rejoice! No more hurling!

    • December 6, 2010 8:37 pm

      Thank you! The hurling sucks, but it does remind you someone’s subletting your uterus! I wish Flip made an ultrasound.

  2. Mac permalink
    December 6, 2010 8:47 pm

    Eggellent blog! Thank you for feeding my new addiction. Little fetus is there – s/he is just deciding to agree with you.

Leave a Reply

