Skip to content

Notes on the night before

October 20, 2010

1. We go in tomorrow at 9 a.m. I have not been able to sleep later than 4 a.m. this entire week. Driving home tonight I thought I would either throw up or pass out — not from nerves, but from exhaustion.

2. My donor nurse is either humor-free or nuance-deprived. I was told not to wear any perfumes or perfumed lotions Thursday morning. Knowing I wouldn’t be able to shower for two days after, I asked if that applied to soap.

“Just use unscented soap.”

I scoff a tiny bit. “So don’t shower. Because you don’t see a lot of unscented soap outside of Berkeley.”

Dead silence.

Girl, if you would just chuckle once in this process, I’d be a happy camper.

Perhaps I’ll finally meet her face to face when they slide the speculum in.

3. A third 30-page set of contracts was sent to us today to sign and bring tomorrow. I have officially signed more papers than I did to buy a house. Which kind of makes sense. The down payments were about the same. And both come with about the same mortgage. Also, I don’t really want to clean either one.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Melissa Rogers permalink
    October 20, 2010 11:37 pm

    GOOD LUCK!!! I’ll be sending positive thoughts your way!

  2. Mac permalink
    October 21, 2010 8:10 am

    Thinking about you!

  3. caryn ascherman permalink
    October 21, 2010 12:36 pm

    sending good thoughts your way!

Leave a Reply

