Skip to content

Embryo mini-van

October 18, 2010

The Duggars got nothin’ on us.

We got the call Sunday from the clinic. Twenty-one mature eggs retrieved; 15 embryos just waiting for teeny tiny multi-celled cribs.

For some reason, I take immense pride in this. As if I had anything to do with eggs or embryo results. As if even if they were my eggs and embryos, it would be a reason for pride — as if I willed those follicles to produce, produce, produce!

And now, we wait for the next call. The embryos (not all 15) will be installed in my uterus either Tuesday or Thursday. For a multitude of reasons, we’re praying for Thursday:

On Thursday, the embryos will be five days old (annoying birthday Facebook posts to ensue), meaning they are much more viable. If they are transferred to my cozy confines on Tuesday, it’s because they were too fragile to survive out in the cold, cruel world 48 hours longer.
I have a job where vacation time is not flexible, which means I have to take sick days and get a replacement. If E-Day is Tuesday, I will get the call by 10 a.m. and be expected to show up three hours later. In my experience, employers do not love it when you tell them you’ll be going home sick in two hours and not showing up for the next two days.
My Young Man had to relinquish his driver’s license as a result of his illness. His father is driving from three hours away to take us to the clinic. If it’s Tuesday, he won’t have time to get here and drive us, leading to even more logistical shenanigans.

I realize concerns 2 and 3 are trivial in terms of the overall project, but they are far easier to fixate on than “I might be pregnant in a week.” “With twins.” “At the age of 43.”

I picked the wrong year to quit smoking. And drinking caffeine.

Not to mention the heroin.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Melissa Rogers permalink
    October 18, 2010 11:49 am

    Way to go embryos! Reading this brought back so many memories. Good luck!!!

  2. caryn ascherman permalink
    October 18, 2010 4:47 pm

    great news!! how many did you decide to transfer?

    • October 18, 2010 6:14 pm

      We settled on two — no, one — no, two. I guess we’re going with two, and we didn’t so much settle on it as just have to choose!

      • caryn ascherman permalink
        October 19, 2010 6:57 am

        go with 2!! we did 2 and ended up with one due in January.

        • October 19, 2010 10:00 pm

          That is very encouraging information! I have been following your ultrasounds with great joy!

  3. Kristine permalink
    October 19, 2010 4:33 am

    Holy crap! Congrats!!! It’s all happening. I have zillions of posts to catchup on here,. Rest easy ..fingers crossed all ‘takes’ et al. Ahhhhhhhhhhhhh!!

Leave a Reply

