Skip to content

I should not be this proud

September 15, 2010

But I did it! I gave myself a shot!

This, for me, was no small thing. I was the kid you could hear from the waiting room wailing at every finger prick, the woman who still cannot watch people draw my blood.

But I pulled back a plunger, filled it with less than a teardrop of fluid (Lupron, a hormone stimulator), and plunged a hair-thin needle into my belly fat. Never in my life have I been so pleased to be so overweight. Ah, cushion of curdled excess, thanks for stepping up to the plate.

Alexander the Great, I’m not impressed. Samson, bite me. I am the picture of bravery.

Until the same time tomorrow night, when I return to cowering.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

