Skip to content

Why, thank you, I use Pond’s cold cream

August 21, 2010

I have a beautiful uterus. My doctor told me so.

It’s not like I haven’t taken good care of it. I don’t let it get too much sun. I let it dry naturally. Still, I was pleased to hear her say, “Your uterus is beautiful,” as I tried to ignore the camera she had gently glided (like that’s possible) past my cervix to take a look-see.

After two weeks of ever-escalating estrogen patches, they were making sure my uterus would respond appropriately. It apparently did; I had a luxuriously thick uterine lining just waiting to provide hospitality to the genetic material of two strangers.

So now they glide me off the estrogen, then slide me onto a birth control to match up my cycle with the donor’s. Goodbye, estrogen. I won’t miss you — well, at least not for a decade or so.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. CWebb permalink
    September 10, 2010 12:04 am

    I do NOT have a beautiful uterus. Mine tilts back and makes speculum insertion difficult and miserable. Got the job done though, as will yours. Your bebe’s first home. WOO.

    • September 10, 2010 11:15 pm

      Let’s hope so, otherwise I’ll have to retitle this blog “All this useless beauty.”

  2. Melissa Rogers permalink
    September 12, 2010 9:08 am

    Congrats on your uterus! Did you take baby aspirin as part of the process? It has been awhile but I think I remember taking one baby aspirin a day to help thicken my lining.

    • September 12, 2010 4:59 pm

      I start the baby aspirin next week. And I had to quit my precious, precious Diet Coke. I may just go buy a 2-liter bottle and put a onesie on it.

  3. Michigas permalink
    September 12, 2010 3:31 pm

    My uterus was also described as “gorgeous”…guess it runs in the fam. my embryos however are possibly crap. wishing you way better luck!

Trackbacks

  1. Sex: You’re doing it wrong « Immaturity Failed Me

Leave a Reply

